Let It Grow

I asked my four year old what we should name our garden and since he had just finished watching The Lorax. Naturally he responded with, “Let it grow!”

It stuck. Let It Grow Garden.

Our greenhouse has seen quite a bit of action the last few weeks. We have six raised garden beds in an enclosed area. Over the years I have used maybe three boxes at once. This year I am determined to use all of the space. Flowers. I do flowers. Vegetables are a bit foreign to me. I am fluent in the beauty of growing tomatoes. Lettuce, cucumbers, watermelon, onions, beans and potatoes not so much. I had success a couple years ago with planting way too many pumpkins which resulted in our very own pumpkin patch. But growing all of these and more at once is a bit daunting. Exciting. But as I learned this morning, while looking at cold sad droopy cucumber sprouts, I have very much to learn.

Apparently starting cucumbers in the greenhouse isn’t usually how it is done. Usually they (and by they I mean google people) plant the seed directly into the earth and when it is warm enough they will sprout and grow, no need to transplant. Starting them as I did, too early means you must condition them? which I gathered meant taking them outside when it is warm, a little windy, letting them hang out and chat with the birds and bugs. But then bringing them back in before they decide to do their death droop. This is done from what I gathered no less than 5,000 times until they are ready to be outside permanently. Sounds like next year I may just do as googsperts say and plant directly in the ground. Lesson officially learned. Until then I will continue to nurse my little cucumbers back to health which I am pleased to say are standing back up and looking happy again.

Cucumbers bounced back
       Cucumbers bounced back

Leave a comment